State Practice Acts and Rules
State approval rules related to continued competency are continually changing in various states. Therefore, it is the responsibility of the licensee to ensure that all courses meet the requirements for the state in which he or she is licensed. This page lists the states with a link to resources where you can find rules regarding continued competency in that state (click on the state name you are interested in).
At the time of publication, the course certificate, received after completing the posttest with an 80% or better, should provide proof of qualified continued competency as per statute for the following states: Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Georgia, Hawaii,Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Carolina, South Dakota, Utah, Virginia, Washington and Wisconsin.
PTAonly.com is working toward approval as a continuing education provider in the following states (anticipated time for approval cannot be determined): Alabama, Alaska, California, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Illinois, Kentucky, New Mexico, Nevada, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Tennessee, and Texas.
The following states will accept the courses that are approved by the WPTA: Alaska,Delaware, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Vermont, Wyoming
The following states do have an exemption process: Louisiana (can submit course approval form after completion to state with $20.00 fee within 90 days of completion, Vermont (can submit approval form for course before completing it), West Virginia (licensee has to submit form for approval of course)
Georgia (need to click on address)
Kentucky (Category 2)